Blog index > Citrix certifications 'old school': what has remained of it?

Citrix certifications ‘old school’: what has remained of it?

1st December 2015
by Isaac Meit

Citrix certificationsIn my previous blog post I gave a summary of the Citrix certifications for the new Citrix products, the so-called ‘new school’ certifications, including accompanying exams and trainings. In this blog post I will give a summary of the still remaining ‘old school’ Citrix certifications. Most certifications for older products are by now in fact no longer obtainable.

But first a short retrospective. After all, why did differentiate between ‘old school’ certifications and ‘new school’ certifications in the first place?

Citrix certifications: old and new

In the summer of 2013 Citrix launched a complete new version of XenApp. By now we have already reached XenApp 7.6. The new version was built on the already existing XenDesktop architecture. The new versions (7.0 and higher) are so different from the old versions (6.5 and lower) that you could actually say they are a whole new product altogether.

Ample reason to maintain certifications for the old versions as well as certifications for the new versions.

Honestly I have to admit that only one interesting ‘old school’ certification still remains today: the certification Citrix Certified Administrator (CCA) for Citrix XenApp 6.5. This certification is interesting because the product XenApp 6.5 can still be found all over the world, this in spite of Citrix’ announcement that XenApp 6.5 will go End of Life in August 2016.

Besides CCA for XenApp 6.5 there are 2 more (less interesting) ‘old school’ certifications that can still be obtained nowadays, as I will show you further along.

Eventually Citrix will completely cease the certification for old products. At this time it is still unknown when this will happen.

Citrix Certified Administrator for Citrix XenApp 6.5 (CCA XA 6.5)

Exam1Y0-A20: Basic Administration For Citrix XenApp 6.5
Still ‘useful to have', especially in foreign countries.
TrainingCitrix XenApp 6.5 Administration (CXA-206)

This training has been renewed in Q1 2015 and now encompasses subjects that are valuable in the current implementations, like StoreFront, Receiver and NetScaler Gateway. The exam 1Y0-A20 will however not be updated and still encompasses questions that focus on for instance Web Interface and Streaming Applications.
Someone who is CCA XA 6.5 certified is a manager who manages the classic version of XenApp 6.5 in farms and zones of a random size. Activities that are part of the remit are rolling out and configuring Citrix XenApp 6.5 servers, ensure the availability of desktops, applications and printers, taking care of secured ICA/HDX connections and managing ICA/HDX sessions.

Citrix Certified Advanced Administrator for Citrix XenApp 6 (CCAA XA6)

Exams1Y0-A20 (zie hierboven) + 1Y0-A22: Citrix XenApp 6 Advanced Administration
To obtain this certification both exams need to be passed. Possessing a CCAA certification indicates a profound knowledge of Citrix XenApp 6.5 in all its aspects. But because several technologies are out of date and are no longer being used the obtainment of CCAA has lost some of its value these days.
TrainingCitrix XenApp 6.5 Advanced Administration (CXA-301)

With effect from February 26, 2016, it will no longer be possible to attend this training.
Someone who is CCAA XA 6 certified is a manager who clearly provides extra expertise to XenApp (IMA) management. Activities that are part of the remit are (besides the elements of CCA XA 6.5) server sizing and optimization, monitoring and troubleshooting from a random XenApp (IMA) implementation and Power Management of XenApp (IMA) servers.

Citrix Certified Administrator for Citrix XenServer 6 (CCA XS 6)

Exam1Y0-A26: Citrix XenServer 6.0 Administration
TrainingCitrix XenServer 6.0 Administration (CXS-203)

If you want to obtain a certification in the field of XenServer this certification will be the only available certification at this time. This certification and the accompanying training CXS-203 are however not interesting anymore today because it is a highly outdated version. Furthermore, with effect from February 26, 2016, it will no longer be possible to follow the training.
Someone who is CCA XS 6 certified is a manager who manages XenServer 6.0 implementations. Activities that are part of the remit are the installment and configuration of XenServer (pools), taking care of network and storage resources, rolling out and configuring VM's and monitoring and optimizing performance.

A few remarks

  • Attention: this information on the Citrix website is wrong.
    o The certification CCA XA 5.0 is stated as active certification, but it can no longer be obtained.
    o The certifications CCA XD 4.0 and CCA XD 5.5 are stated as active certifications, but can no longer be obtained.
    o The certification CCAA XA 5.0 is stated as active certification, but it can no longer be obtained.
  • Did you already obtain one of the certifications above mentioned? All Citrix certifications stay valid for 3 years, including these.
  • Since November 28, 2014, it is no longer possible to obtain the following certifications:
    o Citrix Certified Enterprise Engineer for Virtualization (CCEE), exam 1Y0-A25. The replacement certification is CCP-V. Upgrading from CCEE to CCP-V is no longer possible.
    o Citrix Certified Integration Architect for Virtualization (CCIA), exam 1Y0-A16. The replacement certification is CCE-V. Upgrading from CCIA to CCE-V is no longer possible.
  • The certifications CCA XenApp/XenServer and CCAA are independent of the ‘new school’ certifications and will grant no right to upgrade trajectories.
  • For a year now there is a highly renewed version of Citrix XenServer available: Citrix XenServer version 6.5. The chosen version number may suggest it is an interim version but this new version can be in fact considered as a major release. The accompanying training is available since October 26, 2015: Deploying and Managing Enterprise Virtualization Solutions with Citrix XenServer 6.5 (CXS-300). At this time it is still unknown how the certification on XenServer 6.5 will look.

Want to know more about the Citrix certifications?

By now you have a summary of the ‘old school‘ Citrix certifications and the ‘new school’ Citrix-certifications. If you have any questions concerning one of these certifications feel free to contact me.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply